FESTIVALS: Break Glass in Case of Holiday Emergency, The Twelve Days of Christmas Will Save Your Sanity

By D. Lanier Shook                                       December 24, 2013

It’s Christmas Eve and 75% of the population have something left to do. At least a fourth of you have alot left to do. You’re stressed out and wondered how you’ll make it. Relax, I have the solution.

A year or two ago Asheville suffered power outages right at Christmas. It was awful. My family’s holiday season that year would have been much worse without the Feast of Epiphany.

The Twelve Days of Christmas are well know, but what’s lesser know is the fact they start on begin on December 26. They end on January 6 when the Feast of Epiphany, or Three King’s Day. If you’re not familiar with this celebration you are in for a treat.

Here in Western North Carolina Three King’s Day isn’t as widely celebrated as elsewhere. It commemorates the visit of the Magi to the Christ Child with their gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. This is when children traditionally received their presents, instead of December 25. Its as much an ethnic holiday as a religious one and I first learned of it while helping my sister research a paper about Mexican holidays.

So that’s what it is and here’s SIX WAYS it can help you.

FIRST, It Relieves Some of the Christmas Pressure

The year when power was out in the days leading up to December 25 I wasn’t as stressed out because I knew January 6 was coming up. I didn’t have to do as much. if you don’t have everything done yet, relax and enjoy Christmas. Remember, if you celebrate Three King’s Day, you’ll have another party in two weeks.

SECOND, It Saves You Money

When I was a cashier December 26 was busy with folks lining up to grab the post holiday bargains. Now imagine you could do most of your shopping when prices were 75% off. Three King’s Day lets you take advantage of those after-Christmas bargains.

NOTE: It works the other way, too. I’ve heard that merchants in Miami get relief from the post-Christmas slump on January 6.

THIRD, It Relieves the Post Holiday Blahs

When C.S. Lewis needed to describe repression in The Witch, The Lion, and the Wardrobe he used the phrase ‘always winter and never Christmas.’ Winter is depressing and once Christmas is over, it doesn’t get any better. A party two weeks later is definitely a pick-me-up.

FOURTH, It’s a Way to Teach Children — and Yourself — About Other Cultures

Until a few years ago I’d never heard of Three King’s Day. When I celebrate it in two weeks I will become part of a larger, global community. For many of us, January 6 is as much an ethnic celebration as a religious one. This is a great opportunity to teach your family and friends about others around the globe.

FIFTH, It’s Alot of Fun

For nearly a decade I’ve celebrated Three King’s Day and my family has enjoyed receiving presents after the holiday season has ended. Epiphany is an amazing holiday that puts me in control of my holiday celebration. I can do as much or as little as I like. I can enjoy it.

Here are a few links to web sites about Three King’s Day. They can give you resources, ideas, and prove that I know what I’m talking about.

SIXTH, Check Out Our Twelve Articles of Christmas From Last Year

Last year I posted my first 12 Articles of Christmas. You can find them at these links:

First Day of Christmas: An Introduction

On the Second Day of Christmas: I’m More Relaxed Than Ever and You Can Be, Too

On The Third Day of Christmas: I’m King of Three King’s Day

On The Fourth Day of Christmas: I’m Loving My Family More Than Ever

On The Fifth Day of Christmas: I’m Counting The Money I’ll Save

On The Sixth Day of Christmas: I am Becoming Part of a Global Community

On The Seventh Day of Christmas: I’m Already Treasuring Memories

On The Eighth Day of Christmas: I’m Thinking of the Feasting

On The Ninth Day of Christmas: I’m Looking Forward to the Feasts

On The Tenth Day of Christmas: I’m Making My Own Traditions

On The Eleventh Day of Christmas: I’m Celebrating What I Believe In

On The Twelfth Day of Christmas: I’m Glad I Could Share This With You

 

Thank you for coming to the blog. Please click FOLLOW at the bottom of your screen to have future articles delivered directly to your inbox or reader.
Follow @WNCTravelIntel Tweet

Wnctravel Intelligence Create Your Badge

One response to “FESTIVALS: Break Glass in Case of Holiday Emergency, The Twelve Days of Christmas Will Save Your Sanity

  1. Pingback: HOLIDAYS: Follow The Twelve Days of Christmas With This Scottish Soprano | WNC Travel Intelligence·

Leave a Reply

